lung cancer Oncology

What are the Types and Stages of Lung Cancer?

Types and Stages of Lung Cancer

Cancer is an uncontrolled growth of body cells. When cancer develops in a particular part of the body, the cells in the affected area start growing abnormally.  Lungs are part of our respiratory system. Lung cancer starts in the cells of lungs and may spread to lymph nodes, lobes and other organs in the body. Cancer from other organs also may infect the lungs.

Lung cancers are usually divided into two main types: small cell lung cancer and non-small cell lung cancer on the basis of the nature of cells infected by cancer.

Oncologists divide lung cancer into two main types based on the nature of infected lung cancer cells. Fortis Hospital, one of the best oncology treatment hospitals in India provides a wide range of treatment techniques based on which type of lung cancer you have.

Which are the Types of Lung Cancer?

  • Small Cell Lung Cancer (SCLC)

Small cell lung cancer typically caused by smoking and less prevalent than non-small cell lung cancer. This is also known as ‘oat-cell’ cancer.

  •  Non-small Cell Lung Cancer (NSCLC)

Non-small cell lung cancer is the most common type of lung cancer, especially in women than in men, and it is more likely to spread rapidly. Several types of lung cancers that behave in a similar way are categorized under non-small cell lung cancers.

These two types of cancers grow, spread, and are treated with different therapies and techniques.

Get Estimation for Lung Cancer Treatment in India 

What are the Stages of Lung Cancer?

For an effective lung cancer treatment, it is important to know the progression of the disease. Since lung cancer doesn’t show evident symptoms in the earlier stages, diagnosing it ahead is really crucial to gauge your chances of success with the treatment.

  1. Small Cell Lung Cancer Stages (SCLC)
  2. Small-cell lung cancer (SCLC) primarily has two stages:
    • Limited stage: The cancer is found in one lung, possibly including lymph nodes. In this stage, cancer doesn’t spread to both lungs.
    • Extensive stage: Cancer spreads over other areas of your lungs and chest in the extensive-stage. It may also affect other organs of the body like the brain.
  3. Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Stages (NSCLC)
  4. Non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) has the following stages:
  • Occult-stage: Stage 0: Cancer tumour is very small to notice and haven’t spread in your deeper lung tissues.
  • Stage 1: Cancer may be present in your lung tissues, but not in your lymph nodes.
  • Stage 2: Cancer has been formed and grown. It may have spread to the lymph nodes inside the lung.
  • Stage 3: Cancer has spread further into your lymph nodes or to nearby organs in the middle of your chest.
  • Stage 4: This is the most advanced stage of cancer. In this stage, cancer has spread beyond the lungs into other areas of the body.

How is Lung Cancer Treated?

Non-small cell lung cancer can be treated with surgery, chemotherapy, radiation therapy or a combination of these treatments. Small cell lung cancer treatment may include chemotherapy and radiation therapy.

Choosing the right treatment may be hard for you. The oncology care team at Fortis International develops an appropriate treatment plan based on the results of a patient’s diagnostic tests.

Fortis International is among the Best cancer hospital in Bangalore, recognized for its holistic approach to the disease and an enhanced focus on the patient suffering from cancer. Cancer cells can’t be seen on imaging scans or a biopsy. The tumour is in the development stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *